Plagiarism Lessons

http://www.readwritethink.org/lessons/lesson_view.asp?id=158
http://ec.hku.hk/plagiarism/content_brief.asp
http://nausetschools.org/research/works2.htm
http://tutorials.sjlibrary.org/tutorial/plagiarism/index.htm
http://www.techlearning.com/article/1346

After looking a several lessons – do you see any that would work for your classes? Why or why not?

8 responses to “Plagiarism Lessons

  1. The second website could be used as an introduction to this concept–the subject matter is Mickey Mouse which may be more interesting to read, but the tutorial on our school’s website is more challenging and gives our students a better idea of what constitutes plagiarism.
    I do wish they was a more “fun” and interesting way to present this–but not everything in life is fun and interesting!

  2. Like others, I think that plagiarism lessons could stand to have a fresh new face…something more jazzy or visual or interactive to get kids connected to the concept. I wonder if a student group could design something that would be appealing to their peers, even something really corny, just to get kids talking about plagiarism. I did find my way into the San Jose tutorial, which had some visual appeal to it, which might help kids remember particular rules. Here’s the link… http://tutorials.sjlibrary.org/tutorial/plagiarism/tutorial/introduction.htm?flash=yes

  3. I was able to find a short video from UNLV that wasn’t overly university specific, and I think it might get the point across pretty well with some in-class backup. It wasn’t particularly exciting, but it had some amusing parts. Additionally, it covers everything that needs to be covered. I would — like Pam — like to see something more interesting, but I think I could add information (about real-life cases and humorous examples of bad paraphrasing, for instance) to liven it up a bit.

  4. I think they are okay and sometimes they will have to sit and get. It is coming up in the rest of their life. I found a story http://www.mefeedia.com/entry/video-plagiarism-controversy/10008628/
    It is just a leader

  5. Most of the sites that I looked at really didn’t provide the information in a format that would make it very “kid friendly” for my 5th graders. Even the ReadWriteThink site, while it had good information, the examples were all for older students even university age.
    I looked at the Lees Summit IT site and they didn’t really have much for the elementary age child.
    I did think the kindergarten article was good because it made the idea of a child’s artwork having copywrite. Most kids would get that.

  6. I liked this website because it is leveled by grade and is an excellent scaffolded resource for our younger students. I appreciate the recognition that elementary students are not developmentally ready to use internal citations and formal Works Cited or Bibliographies. I do still like note cards with information for Bibliography and basic facts so that they are more likely to paraphrase.

  7. Thanks for highlighting resources from ReadWriteThink. We are very proud of what we have to offer on the site! If you are interested, we pay educators in the field to publish lesson plans and share teaching ideas. Let me know if you would like more information.

  8. We’re using a PP presentation and other info on our website (including a Voki of “me” informing students to never, ever plagiarize). The information for our presentation came from some of these sites and others.

    It’s a never-ending struggle, but let’s all keep plugging away at helping our students respect intellectual property!

Leave a Reply

